Buhari government summons envoys of US, UK, EU over comments on Twitter ban

The federal government has summoned the envoys of US, UK, Canada, European Union (EU) and the Republic of Ireland over their comments on the suspension of Twitter in Nigeria.

This was contained in an invitation to journalists issued on Monday by Kimiebi Ebienfa of the Crisis Monitoring and Public Communications Division of the Nigerian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

“I am directed to inform that following the recent ban on Twitter by the Federal Government and Press Statement issued by some Heads of Diplomatic Missions Accredited to Nigeria on the subject matter, the Honourable Minister of Foreign Affairs, His Excellency, Geoffrey Onyeama has invited the affected Ambassadors to a meeting today at 12 noon.

“The venue is Minister’s Conference Room, 8th Floor.

“You are here invited to cover the meeting. Thanks for your usual cooperation,” the invite published by the Punch read.

In a joint statement, the missions had expressed disappointment in the government’s decision to suspend the use of Twitter in the country.

The federal government announced the suspension of Twitter in Nigeria on Friday.

The suspension came after a controversial tweet by President Muhammadu Buhari was taken down by the social media platform.

Subscribe to TMZ Naija

To receive alert from TMZ Naija, Adverts Placement, Stories & more, Contact via Whatsapp: 07032803990, email [email protected]

No comments: