INEC declares Akeredolu winner of Ondo governorship election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Rotimi Akeredolu of All Progressives Congress (APC), as winner of the Ondo state governorship election.

Akeredolu, who is the incumbent governor, polled a total of 292,830 votes.

Eyitayo Jegede, his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) rival, secured 195,791.

Agboola Ajayi, the incumbent deputy governor and candidate of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) came a distant third with 60,051 votes.

The INEC returning officer and vice-chancellor of the University of Ibadan (UI), Prof. Idowu Olayinka, made the official declaration on Sunday afternoon.

According to Olayinka, a total of 572,745 valid votes were recorded while 18,448 were rejected, and about 16,000 votes cancelled.

Akeredolu defeated Jegede with a difference of 97,039 votes.

According to INEC, Akeredolu won 15 of the 18 Local Government Areas results, while Jegede won in three local government areas and Ajayi failed to win none, including his LGA where he lost to his principal.

Akeredolu had also defeated Jegede in the 2016 governorship election. Then, Ajayi was Akeredolu’s running mate.
INEC said a total of 17 political parties  took part in the poll.

Subscribe to TMZ Naija

To receive alert from TMZ Naija, Adverts Placement, Stories & more, Contact via Whatsapp: 07032803990, email [email protected]

No comments: