How Mykel Ajaere & Peace Anyiam-Osigwe emerged parallel Presidents of Movie Producers Association

As it is the case in most elections into the executive arm of various associations in the Nigerian entertainment industry, that of movie producers on Saturday was also marred with controversies.

The Association of Movie Producers Nigeria (AMP) election which was scheduled to hold in Asaba, the Delta state capital, was later reported to have been postponed.

In a statement said have been released by the Registered Trustees of AMP, the association said the election was postponed till further noticed.

The statement which read in part: “The postponement of the election was reached at the extraordinary Congress meeting held at the National Secretariat, No. 16, Bassie Ogamba Street, Surulere, Lagos on Friday, August 28, 2020.

"Consequently, the affairs of the Association would now be run by the Board of Trustees comprising of Mr. Zeb Ejiro, Mr. Shola Adeyemi and Mr. Joe Dudun.

"Also in attendance at the meeting are representatives of the association from Kano, Kogi, Niger, River, Bayelsa and Anambra State respectively."

Also, Ralph Nwadike led Executives whose tenure expired in November, 2019, was also said to have been dissolved.

However, some members of the association later came out to debunk the reports of postponement and maintained that the election will hold as scheduled.

TMZNaija sources said some members of association had planned to rig the election in Asaba by importing non AMP members to participate in the exercise.

After accusations and counter accusations, a parallel election was held on Saturday in Asaba and Lagos.

In the election held at AMP national Secretariat at number 16, Bassey Ogamba Street, Surulere, Lagos, Mykel Parish Ajaere emerged as the president, defeating Peace Anyian-Osigwe, founder & CEO of Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA).

However, Anyian-Osigwe emerged victorious in Asaba as the national president, also defeating Ajaere.

While, Ajaere pulled 25 votes to win Anyian-Osigwe who scored 13 votes in Lagos, she is said to have garnered 167 votes in Asaba to beat Ajere, who got only three votes.

In the other elections, Ifeanyi Ezekwe and Baba Agba emerged parallel National Secretary in Lagos and Asaba.

Rose Eya Okwoli was elected Vice President in Lagos, but in Asaba, Queen Blessing was returned as the VP of AMP.

While the Lagos group elected Wisdom Nwankwo as the Public Relations Officer (PRO), Nzeh Frank emerged the National Publicity Secretary in Asaba.

Chioma Rose Ukeaja was also elected Financial Secretary in Lagos, but she lost same position to Anthony Chukwuma, according to the Asaba faction.

Opeyemi Olusanya, who emerged as Treasurer, and Vitus Nnebue as National Provost in Lagos seems to be the only two without opposition from the Asaba group.

With the parallel executives now in AMP, there are rumours that the association members will be heading to court to settle the election disputes.

Subscribe to TMZ Naija
To receive alert from TMZ Naija, Adverts Placement, Stories & more, Contact via Whatsapp: 07032803990, email [email protected]

No comments: