Full list of Oscars Class of 2020 invitees including Genevieve Nnaji, Akin Omotoso, Cynthia Erivo

The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences, known as Oscar Awards, has released a list of its new 819 invitees drawn across the globe.

The list includes veteran Nigerian actress, Genevieve Nnaji, film director, Akin Omotoso, and Nigerian-born British actress, Cynthia Erivo.

In a statement on Tuesday, The Academy said the list, which cuts across 68 countries, was part of its commitment to achieve diversity in membership.

It added that if all 819 invitees accept their invitations, 45% of the new members will be women while 36% are people of colour.

TMZNaija had reported that Genevieve Nnaji had accepted to join the Academy's class of 2020.

The Academy CEO, Dawn Hudso, said the next agenda is Aperture 2025 to advance inclusion and representation in membership and the film community.

“We look forward to continuing to foster an Academy that reflects the world around us in our membership, our programs, our new Museum, and in our awards,” he said.

The development further stretches Nigeria’s impressive run on The Academy’s membership list.

Omotola-Jalade Ekeinde and Femi Odugbemi were also invited as members of the Oscars voting body in 2018.

The 93rd Oscars, earlier billed to hold in February 2021, has been postponed to April 25, due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Below is the full list of the 2020 invitees:

Genevieve Nnaji – ‘Lionheart,’ ‘Road to Yesterday’
Cynthia Erivo* – ‘Harriet,’ ‘Widows’
Yalitza Aparicio – ‘Roma’
Awkwafina – ‘The Farewell,’ ‘Crazy Rich Asians’
Zazie Beetz – ‘Joker,’ ‘High Flying Bird’
Alia Bhatt – ‘Gully Boy,’ ‘Raazi’
Bobby Cannavale – ‘The Irishman,’ ‘The Station Agent’
Choi Woo-Shik – ‘Parasite,’ ‘The Divine Fury’
Zendaya Coleman – ‘Spider-Man: Far from Home,’ ‘The Greatest Showman’
Tyne Daly – ‘The Ballad of Buster Scruggs,’ ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’
Mackenzie Davis – ‘Terminator: Dark Fate,’ ‘Tully’
Ana de Armas – ‘Knives Out,’ ‘Blade Runner 2049’
Kaitlyn Dever – ‘Booksmart,’ ‘Detroit’
Pierfrancesco Favino – ‘The Traitor,’ ‘Rush’
Beanie Feldstein – ‘Booksmart,’ ‘Lady Bird’
Zack Gottsagen – ‘The Peanut Butter Falcon’
David Gyasi – ‘Maleficent: Mistress of Evil,’ ‘Interstellar’
Adèle Haenel – ‘Portrait of a Lady on Fire,’ ‘BPM (Beats Per Minute)’
Kelvin Harrison Jr. – ‘Waves,’ ‘Luce’
Brian Tyree Henry – ‘If Beale Street Could Talk,’ ‘Widows’
Huang Jue – ‘Long Day’s Journey into Night,’ ‘The Lady in the Portrait’
Jang Hye-Jin – ‘Parasite,’ ‘Poetry’
Jo Yeo-Jeong – ‘Parasite,’ ‘The Target’
Udo Kier – ‘The Painted Bird,’ ‘Shadow of the Vampire’
Lee Jung-Eun – ‘Parasite,’ ‘Okja’
Eva Longoria – ‘Overboard,’ ‘Harsh Times’
Natasha Lyonne – ‘Honey Boy,’ ‘American Pie’
Tzi Ma – ‘The Farewell,’ ‘Arrival’
George MacKay – ‘1917,’ ‘Captain Fantastic’
Tim McGraw – ‘Country Strong,’ ‘The Blind Side’
Thomasin McKenzie – ‘Jojo Rabbit,’ ‘Leave No Trace’
Ben Mendelsohn – ‘Ready Player One,’ ‘Animal Kingdom’
Rob Morgan – ‘Just Mercy,’ ‘Mudbound’
Niecy Nash – ‘Downsizing,’ ‘Selma’
Park So-Dam – ‘Parasite’” ‘The Priests’
Teyonah Parris – ‘If Beale Street Could Talk,’ ‘Chi-Raq’
Florence Pugh – ‘Little Women,’ ‘Lady Macbeth’
Hrithik Roshan – ‘Super 30,’ ‘Jodhaa Akbar’
James Saito – ‘Always Be My Maybe,’ ‘Big Eyes’
Alexander Siddig – ‘Cairo Time,’ ‘Syriana’
Lakeith Stanfield – ‘Knives Out,’ ‘Sorry to Bother You’
Yul Vazquez – ‘Gringo,’ ‘Last Flag Flying’
John David Washington – ‘BlacKkKlansman,’ ‘Monsters and Men’
Olivia Wilde – ‘Meadowland,’ ‘Rush’
Constance Wu – ‘Hustlers,’ ‘Crazy Rich Asians’
Wu Jing – ‘The Wandering Earth,’ ‘Wolf Warrior’
Zhao Tao – ‘Ash Is Purest White,’ ‘Mountains May Depart’

Casting Directors
Orit Azoulay – ‘The Kindergarten Teacher,’ ‘The Band’s Visit’
Libia Batista – ‘Eres Tú Papá?,’ ‘Viva’
Javier Braier – ‘The Two Popes,’ ‘Wild Tales’
Anja Dihrberg – ‘A Hidden Life,’ ‘Clouds of Sils Maria’
Leïla Fournier – BPM (Beats Per Minute),’ ‘Eastern Boys’
Timka Grin – ‘With Mom,’ ‘In the Land of Blood and Honey’
Des Hamilton – ‘Jojo Rabbit,’ ‘Melancholia’
Carla Hool – A Better Life,’ ‘Sin Nombre’
Camilla-Valentine Isola – ‘The Man Who Killed Don Quixote,’ ‘Goya’s Ghosts’
Tess Joseph – ‘Aladdin,’ ‘Lion’
Julia Kim – ‘The Last Black Man in San Francisco,’ ‘Starlet’
Eva Leira – ‘Pain and Glory,’ ‘Biutiful’
Kirsty McGregor – ‘Lion,’ ‘Animal Kingdom’
Yesi Ramirez – ‘The Hate U Give,’ ‘Moonlight’
Yolanda Serrano – “Pain and Glory,’ ‘Biutiful’
Nandini Shrikent – ‘Gully Boy,’ ‘Life of Pi’
Magdalena Szwarcbart – ‘Cold War,’ ‘Schindler’s List’
Toshie Tabata – ‘Shoplifters,’ ‘Tokyo Tribe’
Sarah Teper – ‘BPM (Beats Per Minute),’ ‘Eastern Boys’
Hila Yuval – ‘A Tale of Love and Darkness,’ ‘Beaufort’

Todd Banhazl – ‘Blow the Man Down,’ ‘Hustlers’
Jarin Blaschke – ‘The Lighthouse,’ ‘The Witch’
Nicola Daley – ‘Pin Cushion,’ ‘I Am a Girl’
Óscar Faura – ‘Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom,’ ‘The Imitation Game’
Takeshi Hamada – ‘Sakura Guardian in the North,’ ‘Departures’
Chayse Irvin – ‘BlacKkKlansman,’ ‘Hannah’
Ron Johanson – ‘Freedom,’ ‘The Woman Inside’
Polly Morgan – ‘Lucy in the Sky,’ ‘The Truth About Emanuel’
Trent Opaloch – ‘Avengers: Endgame,’ ‘District 9’
Larkin Seiple – ‘Luce,’ ‘Kin’
Ken Seng – ‘Terminator: Dark Fate,’ ‘Deadpool’
Vladimír Smutný – ‘The Painted Bird,’ ‘Kolya’
Jörg Widmer – ‘A Hidden Life,’ ‘Pina’
Jasper Wolf – ‘Instinct,’ ‘Monos’
Katsumi Yanagijima – ‘Battle Royale,’ ‘Dear Doctor’

Akin Omotoso – “Vaya,” “Tell Me Sweet Something”
Ali Abbasi – “Border,” “Shelley”
Levan Akin – “And Then We Danced,” “The Circle”
Francesca Archibugi – “A Question of the Heart,” “Tomorrow”
Ari Aster – “Midsommar,” “Hereditary”
Icíar Bolláin – “Even the Rain,” “Take My Eyes”
Kat Candler – “Hellion,” “Jumping off Bridges”
Felipe Cazals – “El Año de la Peste,” “Canoa: A Shameful Memory”
Cristina Comencini – “Latin Lover,” “Don’t Tell”
Sebastián Cordero – “Europa Report,” “Crónicas”
Terence Davies – “The House of Mirth,” “The Long Day Closes”
Sophie Deraspe – “Antigone,” “A Gay Girl in Damascus: The Amina Profile”
Mati Diop* – “Atlantics,” “A Thousand Suns”
Robert Eggers – “The Lighthouse,” “The Witch”
Luis Estrada – “The Perfect Dictatorship,” “Herod’s Law”
Sydney Freeland – “Deidra & Laney Rob a Train,” “Drunktown’s Finest”
Bette Gordon – “Handsome Harry,” “Variety”
Maggie Greenwald – “Sophie and the Rising Sun,” “The Ballad of Little Jo”
Megan Griffiths – “Sadie,” “The Night Stalker”
Alma Har’el – “Honey Boy,” “Bombay Beach”
Sterlin Harjo – “Mekko,” “Barking Water”
Kathleen Hepburn – “The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open,” “Never Steady, Never Still”
Jan Komasa – “Corpus Christi,” “Warsaw ’44”
Tamara Kotevska* – “Honeyland”
Alejandro Landes – “Monos,” “Porfirio”
John H. Lee – “Operation Chromite,” “71: Into the Fire”
Ladj Ly* – “Les Misérables”
Victoria Mahoney – “Yelling to the Sky”
Samira Makhmalbaf – “At Five in the Afternoon,” “The Apple”
Mai Masri – “3000 Nights,” “33 Days”
Matt Reeves – “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes,” “Cloverfield”
Ljubo Stefanov* – “Honeyland”
Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers – “The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open,” “ćəsnaʔəm, the city before the city”
Maria Tognazzi – “Me, Myself & Her,” “A Five Star Life”
Jorge Alí Triana – “Bolívar Soy Yo,” “A Time to Die”
Matthew Vaughn – “Kick-Ass,” “Layer Cake”
Lulu Wang* – “The Farewell,” “Posthumous”
Wash Westmoreland – “Still Alice,” “Quinceañera”
Andrés Wood – “Araña,” “Violeta Went to Heaven”

See full list here.

Subscribe to TMZ Naija
To receive alert from TMZ Naija, Adverts Placement, Stories & more, Contact via Whatsapp: 07032803990, email [email protected]

No comments: